Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper Declare 2023 Technician of the Year Winner

by John Jay Press Room

Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper Declare 2023 Technician of the Year Winner

DEARBORN, MI: Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper are honored to declare Harrison Keyes, owner of Jerry’s Automotive Service, LLC from Waukesha, WI and customer of the Auto-Wares Group of Companies, the 2023 U.S. Technician of the Year Champion. 

“This is such a humbling experience and a great honor. The automotive industry has been my entire life, my entire career,” says Harrison Keyes the 2023 technician of the year champion. “I can’t thank Auto-Wares and our sales rep enough for pushing me to compete. It feels amazing to receive this recognition. The technicians who came to Dearborn are the best of the best and to be crowned the 2023 champion was unexpected. Thank you to Garage Gurus and DRiV for hosting us, this was awesome!”

Twelve top technicians from across the United States competed in Detroit, Michigan all vying to be crowned the 2023 Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper Technician of the Year.  The event hosted by DRiV and Garage Gurus included finalists from Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper warehouse distributors from across the United States who submitted their regional finalist to compete for the ultimate crown. Harrison Keyes from Jerry’s Automotive Service was declared the winner after scoring the highest cumulative score based on a custom ASE test and a timed hands-on skills test facilitated by Garage Gurus professional trainers.

Each finalist took a 90 minute, 100 hundred question, custom Automotive Service Excellence examination.  For the first time in the history of the Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper Technician of the Year program, a hands-on mechanical element was introduced. Garage Gurus professionals administered a timed quick strut and outer tire rod test that accounted for a portion of the technician’s overall score and also served as a qualifier for the USATNC competition.

While the custom ASE exam and hands on skills testing were the competition criteria the event also included a variety of activities with the technicians and their guests hitting an afternoon of racing at Champion® Motor Speedway in the M1 Concourse, seeing assembly line at the Ford Rouge Factory Tour, enjoying Greenfield Village and concluding with an exclusive awards reception and dinner at Henry Ford Museum.

In addition to the 12 Technician of the Year Finalists from the United States, the Auto Value Technician of the Year Champions from Canada and Latin America were also in attendance to celebrate their accomplishments with their US peers.  Nick Zeiger from Driven Automotive in Regina, Saskatchewan and customer of Auto Electric was named the Canadian Champion. Mariana Meija of Mega Tecnicentro, and customer of EXA Auto Parts in Medellin, Columbia was declared the Latin America Champion.

With over 3500 Certified Service Centers within the Auto Value & Bumper to Bumper network, becoming a technician of the year finalist is no easy task.

“This program recognizes the lifetime work and achievements of our amazing technicians. These folks are truly professionals, and we are so proud that they represent Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper” said JC Washbish, Vice President of Sales and Marketing at the Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance, Inc. “Thank you to DRiV and Garage Gurus for hosting us. Their products and training are valued by our technicians who use them every day.”

“Our Garage Gurus sponsorship of the Auto Value & Bumper to Bumper Technician of the Year program means a lot to us here at DRiV,” says Kevin Reamer, Director of Program Groups with DRiV. “Hosting these top technicians from the U.S., Canada and Latin America, showing off the Garage Gurus training toolbox and assets, and spending time with professionals eager to showcase their expertise was invaluable. This is a partnership that elevates all of us and highlights the full distribution channel from product manufacturing and distribution to the service and repair facilities.”

The 2023 U.S. Auto Value and Bumper to Bumper Technician of the Year Finalists include:

  • Jose Zuniga; Ricks Automotive; Cleburne, TX; 4M Parts Warehouse
  • Jason Scott; Advanced Automotive & Diesel; Paris, TX; ABC Auto Parts
  • Dave Schreier; Cordells Automotive; Holmen, WI; Automotive Parts Headquarters Inc.
  • Harrison Keyes; Jerry’s Automotive Service; Waukesha, WI; Auto-Wares Group of Companies
  • Chris Potucek; CC Auto; Harrodsburg KY; Hahn Automotive Warehouse
  • Christopher Funk; Holmes Transmission & Auto Repair LLC; Monticello, IA; Arnold Motor Supply
  • Steven Perry; Bona Fide Auto Repair; Roseburg, OR; NPW Companies
  • Maclane Reeser; Maclane’s Automotive; Downingtown, PA; Eastern Warehouse Distributors
  • Ted Curran; Monkey Wrenches, Inc.; Brentwood, CA; Trimon Inc.
  • Chris Broom; Broom Auto; Ruston, Louisiana; Parts Warehouse, Inc.
  • Phil Clark; Barnes Auto Service; Louisville, Kentucky; Moog Louisville Warehouse
  • Kim Mertz; Len’s Auto Repair; Cottleville, Missouri; All Car Automotive Warehouse, Inc.


Media Contact

Jim Holik
Director of Marketing
Aftermarket Auto Parts Alliance
Office: 210-408-4342